Organisation: Referee Expense Reports

I thought I would write about an interesting topic to referees of all age groups and levels; keeping referee accounts. For those of you with the disease, this is especially important. After all, it’s nice to be making money doing something you love but you don’t want to be losing any! It’s also an excellent method to track where your money goes and comes because after all, being a referee is like running a business! A sole trader business for that matter.

As far as I’m aware, very few referees I know actually keep accounts of their income/expenses. There are several advantages to doing so and I hope to have:

  • convinced you by the end of this post and
  • provided enough starter material to get you going.

Post-Match Duties

First off I’ll tell you why it works for me and how much time commitment I put in. It’s quite simple really. After every game, I return home to:

  • complete the game sheets,
  • fill out discipline reports (if any),
  • add a note of the game(s) I did that day to my game journal,
  • quickly add the expenses I incurred for that day’s game(s) as well as the income!,
  • place and highlight receipts in my file.

Sample Expenses

Now most people would be thinking: “What expenses are you talking about? You get paid cash on the field and you go home!”

Let me start my eloquent spiel of just some of the expenses,

  • Registration Fees
  • Referee Association Fees
  • Mileage/Gas Money
  • Public Transit Tokens
  • Parking Fees
  • Post-Match Meals
  • Energy Snacks
  • Energy Drinks
  • Phone Calls (especially long-distance)
  • Laundry Costs (washing, detergent, drying)
  • Equipment!
  • Education Material
  • Postage

Now I’m sure anyone could add more to that list depending on your situation and the level/location you referee at but that should be a start or at least an eye opener. Minus that from all the game fees and you could be left with almost nothing; this part really depends on how severe your strain of the disease is.

You don’t need to be a master accountant to manage this but rather have the motivation. I can help if you need any clarification.

One very important thing! Keep all the receipts of transactions if you ever need to reference them later and for tax purposes. 😉 It’s also a nice record for the future. A word of caution however. The people who know how crazy you are about refereeing may try to access your accounts to see your track record of spending that you may have been keeping secret; that spouse/parent/significant-other. Password-protect it! It ain’t public information until you have shareholders investing in you on the stock exchange!

Template

My very own personalised template is attached: Referee Expense Report.xlsx

Note: The numbers and figures in the sample is intended as a guideline on numbers and type of expenses/income expected for a referee. Hopefully this sample will be a good starter to get your own set of expenses tracked effectively.

I received my inspiration from the RA. Unfortunately their site with the article went down but luckily I kept an offline copy.

Conclusion

For those of you with the disease, you need this! Why you ask? Face it. We spend far more than we need to on unnecessary purchases. It may be little known to you that despite all those game fees, there is this blackhole that obliterates our earnings. This will track it and keep you more vigilant. I often take a look to make sure I am at least positive before making any purchases. If not, I hold off until a sale or when my earnings are enough to keep my hobby afloat! It keeps you on top of the financial game as well.

Do you keep referee accounts? What do you think? Worth the time?

Leave a Reply

