Instructing Again; “Alone”

So exactly four months later, I was presenting an education session again. This time, “Refereeing By Yourself” (hence the pun of “Alone” in the title).

This wasn’t personally a very appealing topic choice to me at first since I don’t referee many games alone in the games I am currently appointed to and haven’t found it of particular concern when it’s occurred but every instructing opportunity is a learning opportunity. I wasn’t initially expecting the present this topic alone but circumstances warranted it so I started studying the information I could gather from another RA’s slides.

The session wasn’t very crowded being mid-season; 15 people. I managed to run an activity and was pleased to see the involvement amongst group members in trying to collect presentable data. Later I collated their responses to what a referee should do prior to the game.

The two videos that were discussed were:

and

Quite a few interesting discussions were yielded after watching the videos and after splitting it into important segments. The considerations of dealing with “people that just don’t like you” were taken into account and we explored the root-cause and solution to every scenario. Be professional, polite, respectful and brief.

I also managed to pull up a match incident on the fly from my computer that I remembered from memory on one of the dozens of matches I have on my laptop for analysis. Relevant to being calm and confident even when tension is high.

An hour and 10 minutes later, I managed to end off the session keeping the vast majority of people engaged by appealing to hear their opinions and attempting to keep session control. Yes! That’s a thing. Not just match control on the field!

It was definitely an interesting topic to cover as I learnt a decent bit myself. Looking forward to the next time I get to present but I’m wondering what topic I should choose next.

4 comments on “Instructing Again; “Alone”

  1. David Figliano says:

    Curious…..what were you talking points for the second video?

    My opinion….Referee is an idiot, but not for the reasons most people would think. The opening incident….to me….doesn’t look like much happened.  If anything the charging attacker came in way too recklessly and got the bad end of his own tackle.  It didn’t look like the keeper did very much of anything, in my opinion.

    Now….there referee is a moron #1 for allowing the coach to come on screaming at him like that. He would have be gone straight away if that was me.  #2 – what on earth was his restart after he cautioned the keeper??? lmao!!!

    ________________________________

    • larbitre says:

      The comments on the YouTube summarise what we spoke about quite well. The failure to deal with the push prior to the throw-in and high game temperature caused the serious foul play in the third scenario. We analysed this in the way one of my favourite instructors do (What?, So What?, Now What?).

      For the first scenario, I would have personally cautioned/sent off the attacker for running into the goalkeeper like that. He injured himself in the scenario but I don’t think I would have allowed play to continue after a collision like that.
      He definitely let the coach erode his authority by letting him come on and yell at him like that without consequences.

      Second scenario restart was definitely weird. Dropped ball doesn’t work. It should have really been a penalty kick.

      Everything in the match built up to the red card.

  2. Ryan Owens says:

    I agree with David on this one. Clearly didn’t know the Laws of the Game. First thing is first, the coach is there to deal with the injury, not the referee. As soon as he started yelling at the referee, he would have been informed that he was to deal with the player and promptly leave the FoP and its immediate surrounds. Second, the attacker would have been cautioned for a reckless challenge on the GK. Third, the GK would have been sent off for making provocative contact above the shoulders in incident #2 and the correct restart (a penalty kick) would have been applied. In incident 3, which wouldn’t likely have happened had the previous two incidents been dealt with correctly, there would have been a long, hard blow on the whistle followed by a sprint to the area of the push and a caution administered for UB. The tackle would have been dealt with by issuing a red card for SFP as he did; however a caution would have been administered to the player who entered from 10 yards away and pushed the offending player in the back. I would have liked to have seen the referee actually recognize that the player was coming, and take another step towards, extended his arm in a ‘stop’ motion and a clear direction to stop. If he refused to stop, a caution for UB (his second, given that he was cautioned for the push earlier, I believe).

    • larbitre says:

      I agree Ryan. It seems more of a case of reactive refereeing when it was necessary rather than proactive refereeing!

Leave a Reply

