July 1st

I have the week off of refereeing for the most part so I thought I would talk about something that every referee anticipates every year on July 1st! Or me at the very least…

FIFA Laws of the Game!

Every year FIFA publishes a new version of the FIFA Laws of the Game. A new cover photo and new text to look forward to.

This year has a bonus as there may be potentially another Law added with the inclusion of the responsibilities of the Additional Assistant Referees (AARs). Finally we may find out if there are any subtle signals involved and what their exact responsibilities are! More for players and commentators to argue about and wonder in international matches.

Have a look for now at the changes on FIFA’s annual letter from the Secretary General, Jerome Valcke. This year from the Deputy, Markus Kattner.
http://media.wix.com/ugd//c95872_e2c433564d101bba4e0aefd23f1d72f5.pdf

Speaking of which, I think the new version of the Futsal Laws of the Game will be posted as well if there are any changes… I’m not sure since I am yet to complete my first year in refereeing Futsal!

I will post again when the new version of the Laws are up!

One comment on “July 1st

  1. […] July 1 – FIFA Laws of the Game’s latest edition is published on FIFA.com to take effect in the upcoming/next season for member associations […]

Leave a Reply

