HI Practice India

Plenty of photos on this post as my little cousin and niece were playing around with my phone and took a few shots.

theStart

So as promised I thought I would relay some experience on High Intensity Test practice on my vacation time. I don’t want to be back home and thrown into the end of the season having gained weight and being unable to run on the field so I have to make sure my fitness is still maintained in my three week break. I suffered the first few days with a cold due to the weather change and battled jet lag for the first three days so I would definitely sympathise with players and referees travelling to other continents for games and to be able to maintain the intense schedule and environmental changes.¬†Distances for my own run is approximate but I decided to throw a curveball into my routine (adding change of pace and direction) by having to move back and forth.

Route

KISS; Keep It Simple Stupid.

Simple run to the gate and touch the boundary wall

Simple run to the gate and touch the boundary wall

Run back but take a detour to the garage and touch the garage door

Run back but take a detour to the garage and touch the garage door

Return past start point to boundary wall of the house on the far side. Recover after the lap for 35 seconds.

Return past start point to boundary wall of the house on the far side. Recover after the lap for 35 seconds.

The Run

Looking back at this, I COMPLETELY forgot to warm-up. At the end when I remembered, I was open-mouthed and slightly astonished I had overlooked such an important preparation of any exercise. Something to remember the next time but I did ease into the run without any sudden or hard runs at the start.

I still had a cold during this so it wasn’t easy. The weather was quite humid but just humid. Nothing like the blast of dry desert air in Dubai.

Most important rule of the High Intensity test, get rid of a cold or breathing problems if you can. It’s such a huge bottleneck on the recovery portion that it’ll prevent you from maximising ¬†your recharge. I suffered during this run because of a cold; I could feel my breath gradually tightening every lap. The different environment was what made it more interesting. It was a much sweatier affair as I was perspiring by the beginning of lap 3 and shirt drenched by lap 7.

hiTestRecovery

It was a great experience trying it out in this environment. Quite different to the chilly runs in early May in Canada. I prefer the cold but maybe that’s because there was company.

I thought I would conclude the 98th post of this blog looking back wondering how I got here so fast! The frequency of blog posts will likely slow down as the season slows and ends but it really depends on how busy I am and what I am doing referee-related. It’s going to be a quieter Winter season with indoor and Futsal as my focus shifts to the university league.

Leave a Reply

