Week 8

Game day arrived earlier in the week in the form of a rescheduled game on Tuesday. New venue and all at a local high school. It’s always nice visiting new pitches. This is tourism for referees.

To my surprise, the game required minimal involvement from me. I must have whistled five fouls in total over 70 minutes. There was still 9km running and plenty of decision-making such as offsides and ball in/out of play calls.

asdPitch

As I arrived at the school, I saw the same coach walking across the pitch. I had somehow drawn the same team in all the U16 division’s games I had for the last month.

Long time no see coach!

I’m seeing you more often than my mistress now!

asdHalfway

The centre of the field had plenty of markings which was rather confusing but I made do with what I had. None of the game’s incidents required me to know about any of the markings. It was a well-maintained pitch otherwise.

I stretched as part of my cooldown and finished the paperwork for the game outside the school as I waited for my ride.

asdPostMatch

I also had a pleasant chat catching up with the Third Blind Mouse. He finally changed his alias. Check it out and follow him on Twitter and his blog.

Goal-setting is important. I sat down three years ago to decide how I wanted to plan my development pathway. Luckily I was able to follow it to a tee. The future is far more uncertain with all the changes and with what comes in this part of the refereeing ladder. The focus becomes on short-term goals.

I was all set for game day Saturday’s double-header but when morning came, a sandstorm began and visibility was poor. I don’t think refereeing in that would have been fun at all and the text came 90 minutes before KO about the cancellation.

Interesting incidents

Scenario 1

It’s not often you see this scenario and quoted straight from the Laws.

uses a deliberate trick while the ball is in play to pass the ball to his own goalkeeper with his head, chest, knee, etc. in order to circumvent the Law, irrespective of whether the goalkeeper touches the ball with his hands or not. The offence is committed by the player in attempting to circumvent both the letter and the spirit of Law 12 and play is restarted with an indirect free kick.

LOTG 2014-2015, Page 123

Scenario 2

I had been digging for this reference that I had seen a long time ago. Following the laws strictly for cautions for handling, you’d find the following reasons to caution:

  • deliberately handles the ball to prevent an opponent gaining possession
  • attempts to score a goal by deliberately handling the ball

handlingDeceiveCaution

attempting to deceive the referee by handling the ball though… Not in the Laws (correct me if I’m wrong) but this is from FIFA. There was also another video from a FIFA WC 2010 video on a different DVD referencing the same.

In case you were wondering, the video is of the ball crossed upfield to Neymar who deliberately handles the ball by stretching his arm out in front of him in order to control it and then subsequently score.

Scenario 3

notDeliberate

This is one of my favourite videos because it demonstrates that deliberate handling doesn’t mean any obvious contact with the hand. Deliberate being the keyword.

Leave a Reply

